COVER IDEAS FOR THE TALES2INSPIRE EMERALD COLLECTION

 

 

 

 

I have asked Sean Somics, the terrific fellow who designed the T2I logo, if he would work with me on the cover. Below you can find three prototypes that we are working from and if you have an artistic eye, would appreciate your input.

front.cover.7

SAMPLE A WHAT I WANT TO KEEP: THE SHADES OF GREEN ON THIS SAMPLE

MY CONCERN: DOES  THE WHITE BOX AROUND THE EMERALD LOOKS TOO MUCH LIKE THE DESIGN TAKEN FROM A TEMPLATE? YOUR THOUGHTS?

front.cover_c

SAMPLE B – WHAT I LIKE: THE GREEN CURVED LINES CONTINUING DOWN THE COVER.

WHAT I WANT CHANGED:  THE GREENS NEED TO BE SHARPER AS IN SAMPLE A.  I DO NOT LIKE THE INTRODUCTION OF THE COLOR PURPLE TO THE TITLE AND MY NAME.

tales2inspirecover_a.

SAMPLE CWHAT I LIKE: AGAIN, I LIKE THE GREEN CURVED LINES CONTINUING DOWN THE COVER

I ALSO LIKE THE BOLD BLACK COLOR USED FOR THE TITLE AND AM INCLINED TO ASK SEAN TO USE IT FOR THE “BEYOND COINCIDENCE ” and “CREATED BY . . . ” PARTS AS WELL WHAT DO YOU THINK?

WHAT I WANT CHANGED: NEED THE GREENS TO BE SHARPER AS IN SAMPLE A. I DO LIKE

WHAT I’M ALSO CONSIDERING:  ASKING FOR A LIGHT HALO AROUND THE EMERALD LOGO TO BREAK ALL THE GREEN.

ANY OTHER IDEAS? PLEASE SEND THEM TO ME AT: tales2inspire@optimum.net OR POST THEM IN A COMMENT BOX ON THIS BLOG. TO AVOID CONFUSION, PLEASE REFER TO EACH COVER YOU DISCUSS BY LETTER (SAMPLE A, B OR C)

MANY THANK

LOIS

About loiswstern

I was in education for just over 20 years when I unexpectedly pursued another passion and entered the world of authors and journalists. I have since published two non-fiction, full length books on different aspects of beauty, but also avidly endorse the confluence of Inner and Outer beauty. I have written feature articles for Long Island Beauty Guide and LI Woman, and have served as Editor-at-large for MakeMeHeal.com, the largest Internet site for plastic surgery and beauty needs. I enjoy researching what's new in the world of aesthetics & anti-aging and devote one of my blogs: www.FabulousBeautyBlog.wordpress.com to sharing cutting edge, hype-free information. I devote my second blog to my other passion: writing, collecting and sharing stories to warm the spirit and inspire the soul. To this end, I have created an 'Authors Helping Authors' project/contest, to create books for inspiration, the first of which is titled: Tales 2 Inspire ~ Beyond Coincidence. It is a jewel of a book, filled with inspiring stories and full color original photos and/or drawings. If you're a talented writer with one inspiring story to share, visit www.tales2inspire.com to learn how to participate. FREE to enter. All you need is the talent and perseverance to do so. Lots of positive platform building opportunities for the winners. Learn more at: www.tales2inspire.com.

Posted on May 8, 2013, in "Tales2Inspire Writer's Contest", Tales2Inspire, TALES2INSPIRE WRTERS CONTEST and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I most definitely agree with you Lois; C with sharper shades of green. Good Luck on this endeavor.

    Jaime Martinez Tolentino

  2. Thanks, Jaime. Glad for some confirmation here.

  3. dianesloftis

    Hi Lois-

    I am favoring Sample C- I like the bold black/white lettering for the main title- sub title. And the green lettering “Emerald Collection” above the logo is perfect. Then to keep a nice flow- I favor the black lettering for “Created by Lois W. Stern. I think the black brings everything back together. 🙂 I don’t agree with the brighter shade of green as shown in Sample A- The pale green is more calming-relaxing and more peaceful on the eyes. I do like the halo idea. But what about maybe a white circle to outline the logo a bit or maybe a white pin stripe line outlining the curves?

    • Thank you So much Diane, for your valued input. I have to live with these covers a bit and absorb everyone’s advice. Then I need to decide what resonates with me, because I realize in the last analysis, I am the one who has to be pleased. And then of course, my authors.
      You are a sweetheart to take the time to offer some feedback. As for the greens, when I print out Samples B and C, the greens look muddy and I know I don’t want that. Maybe Sean can soften the Sample A greens just a tad, but I want this cover to POP.

  4. Hello! Very exciting indeed. I like B – it is readable and bold at the same time (minus the typo of “coincidence” but I’m sure that would be fixed). I find the white type of C too hard to read and the light curve green of A not pleasing on my eyes.

    • Thanks Erica for your input. Yes, the typo would be fixed, and I too have nixed the white font. So little by little, we will get it just right!

      Warm regards,
      Lois

  5. Lois, let me first say that I think you’ve got a great idea in getting feedback prior to settling in a cover…bravo!

    I have to agree with you in that I like Sample C: Having the green on the right side be a bit ‘bolder’ like in Sample A and I like the idea of a Halo effect around the logo. Something that looks like a ‘fading out’ effect with the brightest part being directly around the logo edges.

    ‘C’ definitely looks more professional as well.

    Be well and am so excited for you!
    Mary

    • Hi Mary,

      It is so good to hear from you and thanks so much for your input. I know Sean and I will eventually have to make this final decisions but it is so helpful to hear from all of you in clarifying my ideas. As I’m sure I’ve told you already, your ‘tale’ Hot Chocolate is slated to be included in the Sapphire Collection, REFLECTIONS. My dream is starting to unfold!

      Warm regards,
      Lois

      • Lois, it is so very heartwarming to be able to be not only a part of your dream but, being able to see it come to fruition for you after all your efforts, TLC, hard work and dedication. You are truly an inspirational blessing to writer’s everywhere!

        Godspeed,
        Mary

      • Cosmetic Surgery

        Mary dear, thank you for all your kind words. Some day we are destined to meet.

        Warm regards,

        Lois

  6. Lois, in sample A, adding a square white box breaks up the nice curvy green flow. I suggest you leave it out, but I’m not an artist.
    Sample B, yes, leave out the purple. The black complements the green better.
    Sample C, Not sure about a halo. It may start to look too fussy; I prefer simplicity in design. As I said before, I’m not an artist. I just like what I see. Sorry I can’t be of more help.Lots of luck with your project.

    • Pauline, I don’t know how I missed your message, but it must have been from some time ago. Even though I didn’t see it in time, I totally agree. As you know by now, I eliminated that white box and stuck with the two tones of a single color in wavy intersecting line for each cover. You’ve probably seen the results in the Topaz and Emerald covers. The same effect will be carried out in the next covers: Ruby and Sapphire.

      Cheers,
      Lois

  7. I definitely prefer the second one because the green sparkles emerald. Brighter contrast with the greens might improve this already lovely image and I don’t like the purple in your name either.
    Micki

  8. Hi Micki,

    What are you doing up and commenting at 1:34 AM? (You sound like me!) Thanks for your input. We have indeed gone with the second sample, but without any white lettering – all black lettering except for the words in script.
    Hope all is well with you.

    Best,
    Lois

Leave a Reply

Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book

Dollycas's Thoughts Part II

Tales2Inspire

Inspiring true stories for the winners of the Tales2Inspire "Authors Helping Authors"project/contest

Living and Lovin

Living Life surrounded by all I love. PEACE

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Lateral Love

"The time is always right to do what is right" ~ Martin Luther King Jr

jamesosbornenovels

Welcome to my Blog!

Wise-About-Weight

"It's about learning the difference between creating healthy lifestyle change and simply dieting." - Robin Kushner

synchronicityjournaling

synchroncitiyjournaling.com site

maryltabor

Just another WordPress.com site

llcoachromero

Just another WordPress.com site

Denise Saylors

Love Laugh Live

wordsofhonestunwisdom

Open, free, philosophical

nellewrites

ramblings of a daft writer

waronliteracy

Creative writing by Benjamin Keay.

neelthemuse

everybody's poet

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

castelsarrasin

The work and activities of a writer/bargee

